Here's the sample letter I wrote for our class. Remember that your letter (with rough draft, edited copy, and assessments) is due next Tuesday. 

Sharece Michelle Bunn

Vynnychenko 10, Ternopil, Ternopilska Oblast 46018, Ukraine

November 29, 2011

Santa Claus

Santa’s Workshop

The North Pole

Dear Santa,

I am writing to you to ask for a special present. I’m not asking for a pony, a large amount of chocolate, or an orange in my stocking. If I wanted those, I’d just ask my parents. I’d rather have TNPU officials crack down on truancy, more buses in Ternopil, and another Peace Corps volunteer in Ternopil.

I’m sure you’ve heard that there are a bunch of naughty students studying at TNPU. They don’t show up for lessons and tests and try to pay their way to finish. Many students receive diplomas from TNPU when they have done very little of the work required for such a degree. Please persuade the officials to deal with this issue. It is incredibly unpleasant to show up to class and only have four out of twelve students to work with. I would rather work with the entire group.

Secondly, buses in Ternopil are a nightmare. You only travel to Ternopil by sleigh so you wouldn’t know much about this. If you were to ride on a marshrutka, I think you’d speak with the mayor of Ternopil at once. Your chubby belly would barely fit with all of the people crammed in the bus. I imagine that you would sweat a bunch in your red costume. I’ll buy you a marshrutka ticket for Christmas so you can try it. If you don’t want to do it, please speak to the mayor. He’ll listen to jolly old St. Nick.

Lastly but most important of all is that I would like another Peace Corps volunteer to come to Ternopil. I’m sure you’ve heard my cries and complaints since my friend Amanda left a few weeks ago. If you can help get another Peace Corps volunteer in Ternopil, I might be able to be more active in clubs at the Window on America Center and I will have more help planning and carrying out extra activities here at TNPU.

I’d appreciate it if you could get me these things for Christmas. In case you forgot, I want the TNPU big wigs to crack down on truancy, more buses in Ternopil, and another Peace Corps volunteer in Ternopil. That’s not too much to ask, is it?

Thanks Santa. I’ll make sure to leave you some cookies and milk in my dorm room.

Merry Christmas.

Sincerely,

Sharece Michelle Bunn

Peace Corps Response Volunteer, 2011-2012

Ternopil National Pedagogical University (TNPU)

Nataliia Stepushchonok
12/5/2011 05:08:30 am

Great example of a letter to Santa Claus!
I have similar wishes for Santa to ask!:)Especally the one with more buses in Ternopil!:)

Reply
Taras
12/6/2011 04:13:37 am

This is great

Reply



Leave a Reply.